Books

My books include Hippie Boy, Focus and A Little Book of Mormon (and Not So Mormon) Stories. I’ve also helped high school students publish three of their own group story collections about the struggles they've endured.

Speaking/Workshops

Looking for an inspirational speaker for your next event? Hope you'll keep me in mind. For more information, testimonials and a list of upcoming events, click on the image above.

About Ingrid

I’m an author, speaker and teen mentor committed to the life-changing power of personal storytelling. I’m also an eye health advocate on a quest to conquer my blinding eye disease, Retinitis Pigmentosa.

HippieBoy

Discover the unforgettable New York Times bestselling memoir about growing up in a dysfunctional Mormon family–and finding escape, adventure, and hard-earned wisdom on the road…

““In clear, graceful prose and in a voice that is refreshingly authentic, Ricks tells an uplifting story of heartbreak, hope and self-salvation.” – Kirkus Reviews
“A soft-spoken but resounding reminder of the power plays tied to religion.” - Booklist
“The author’s clear-eyed prose keeps the pages turning...well-written and heartbreaking.” – Publishers Weekly
“Fans of Haven Kimmel and Mary Karr should welcome Ricks warmly as a new, distinct voice in memoirs.” – BookPage
Listen to a Story from Hippie Boy on NPR's Snap Judgment!