Books

My books include Hippie Boy and Focus. And I now use my stories and lessons learned to help high school students write their personal narratives.

Speaking/Workshops

Looking for an inspirational speaker for your next event? Interested in bringing our Narrative Writing program to your high school? For more information, click on the image above.

About Ingrid

I’m an author, speaker and teen mentor committed to the life-changing power of personal storytelling. I’m also an eye health advocate on a quest to conquer my blinding eye disease, Retinitis Pigmentosa.

HippieBoy

Discover the unforgettable New York Times bestselling memoir about growing up in a dysfunctional Mormon family–and finding escape, adventure, and hard-earned wisdom on the road…

““In clear, graceful prose and in a voice that is refreshingly authentic, Ricks tells an uplifting story of heartbreak, hope and self-salvation.” – Kirkus Reviews
“A soft-spoken but resounding reminder of the power plays tied to religion.” - Booklist
“The author’s clear-eyed prose keeps the pages turning...well-written and heartbreaking.” – Publishers Weekly
“Fans of Haven Kimmel and Mary Karr should welcome Ricks warmly as a new, distinct voice in memoirs.” – BookPage
Listen to a Story from Hippie Boy on NPR's Snap Judgment!